• Billy Gibson

Inaugural Leadership Franklin Class

Franklin Sun - Leadership is not about titles, status, and wielding power. A leader is anyone who takes responsibility for recognizing the potential in people and ideas, and has the courage to develop that potential.

DeAnne Kiper, LDCC Campus Director, along with the Winnsboro Main Street Economic Committee, has recognized the potential of young leaders in Franklin Parish and is taking steps to develop this potential. This endeavor is a result of countless hours of planning over the last year.

Kiper describes Leadership Franklin as a personal and professional journey designed to assist participants in realizing their potential for leadership. It is open to young professionals who live or work in Franklin Parish, Louisiana. The class consists of individuals who were selected through an application process that took place last fall. Throughout the class, participants will refine specific leadership skills and gain exposure to leaders from the community, the region, and the state. Participants will also network with their peers from other fields and gain contacts that will benefit their volunteer and professional activities.

On Tuesday, Jan. 7, the Leadership Franklin class of 2020 met for the first time and has already proven to be an exceptional, diverse class. The inaugural class of 19 includes: Trent Williams, Winnsboro State Bank; Nora Pylant, Northeast Louisiana Power Co-op; Donna Carter, Plantation Oaks Nursing & Rehab; Michael Wilson, Franklin Parish Sheriff ’s Office; Brian Moroni, Progressive Bank; Tammie McMurray, Coughran Clinic; Chelsea Ulmer, White Ford, LLC; Meagan Russell, BayouLife Magazine; Alvin Robertson, White Ford, LLC; Julia Jackson, Town of Winnsboro; Magen Martin, La Delta Community College; Suzanne Laird-Dartez, La Department of Natural Resources; Courtney Tannehill, Town of Wisner; Shelby Kiper James, Plantation Manor Nursing Center; Dustin Parker, Caldwell Bank & Trust Co.; Krysta Younker, Franklin Medical Center; Chrissie White, CrossFit Winnsboro; Christy Allen Pleasant, Western Governor’s University, and Orlando Logan, Winnsboro Fire Department. The class is scheduled to conclude with a graduation and awards ceremony in November 2020.

10 views0 comments